Unity is a welcoming community that supports and celebrates diversity in all its forms. We believe that everyone deserves to be treated with dignity and respect. That’s why at Unity Village, we fly the Pride flag year-round, not just during Pride Month.

Unity CEO Rev. Jim Blake says, “Here at Unity Village, one of our core values is inclusiveness. We embody this value every day in making sure all of our associates and guests feel welcome, valued, seen, and heard. The year-round presence of the Pride flag is our commitment to the LGBTQIA+ community that we are a safe, welcoming, and inclusive destination.”

Unity flies the Progress Pride Flag, which developed from the original rainbow to include people of color and the transgender community.

Unity Pride Flag

Celebrate diversity with the Unity Pride Flag. Complete with the Unity logo, this pride flag honors all genders, orientations, and identities. Unity proudly supports the LGBTQIA+ community.

The Original Rainbow Pride Flag

The rainbow Pride flag has a rich history and is a powerful symbol of the LGBTQIA+ community’s struggle for acceptance and equality. The different colors of the flag each have their own unique meaning, representing a diverse range of experiences and identities.

The original rainbow Pride flag was designed in 1978 by Gilbert Baker, an artist and LGBTQIA+ activist. The flag’s design features six vibrant colors arranged in a rainbow pattern, each representing a specific aspect of the LGBTQIA+ community. The colors from top to bottom are as follows:

Red: The color red represents life, as well as the passion and love that are integral to the LGBTQIA+ community.

Orange: Orange represents healing, as well as the vitality and energy of the community.

Yellow: Yellow represents sunlight, signifying hope and the promise of a brighter future for LGBTQIA+ people.

Green: The color green symbolizes nature, as well as the growth and progress of the community.

Blue: Blue represents serenity, as well as the trust and faith that LGBTQIA+ people place in one another.

Purple: Finally, purple represents spirit, highlighting the spirituality and faith that many members of the community hold.

Together, these six colors form a beautiful and meaningful symbol of LGBTQIA+ pride and identity. The rainbow flag was first flown at the San Francisco Gay Freedom Day Parade on June 25, 1978, and has since become an iconic symbol of LGBTQIA+ identity and rights worldwide.

We believe that everyone deserves to be treated with dignity and respect. That’s why at Unity Village, we proudly fly the Pride flag year-round, not just during Pride Month.

CEO Rev. Jim Blake

The Evolution of the Pride Flag

Over the years, the rainbow flag has undergone a few changes to better represent the diversity of the LGBTQIA+ community. In 2017, a new version of the flag was created by Daniel Quasar, a graphic designer and LGBTQIA+ activist. Quasar’s design is called the “Progress Pride Flag” and includes additional colors to represent the experiences of marginalized members of the LGBTQIA+ community, including people of color and the transgender community.

The Progress Pride Flag features the same six colors as the original flag but includes an additional chevron of black and brown stripes to represent LGBTQIA+ people of color. It also features a chevron of light blue, pink, and white stripes to represent the transgender community. The design is intended to be more inclusive and intersectional, reflecting the complex and diverse experiences of the LGBTQIA+ community.

By flying the Progress Pride Flag at Unity Village, we show our commitment to creating a safe and inclusive environment for individuals of any sexual orientation or gender identity.

About the Author

Sara Crawford is a digital content specialist at Unity World Headquarters. She is also a playwright and the author of Time After Time as well as The Muse Chronicles trilogy. For more information, please see saracrawford.net.

Sara Crawford


No Results